Pru Center Parking In Boston

Recently, thanks to my wife giving me the best birthday present ever, we went to Boston for a game at Fenway Park. I married up.

 

Having researched Fenway for the Fenway Park Guide I have written, I well knew not to try to park there. Not only is Beantown a difficult city to navigate in, you won’t likely park anywhere within a half mile of Fenway for less than $30. There’s a reason those Green Line trains get so packed.

 

But if you are a large group that would rather not buy a whole bunch of train tickets, I suppose you could use the Prudential Center’s lot. The Pru, as Bostonians call it, currently charges just $16 on game days to park in their garage, and they pronounce it the best parking deal you’ll find, which is mostly true (although my Fenway Park E-Guide has a few secrets in it).

 

The Pru also has a food court where you can get a cheaper pre-game meal than you will likely pay at the park. There are several chain restaurants, including a Legal Seafood clam chowder joint.

 

The only thing is that the Pru Center is a good hike from Fenway Park, a walk that most people believe to be about ten minutes but one that I put closer to 20. This can be alleviated by grabbing a Boston Pedicab (see “Take A Rickshaw To Fenway” in this blog), but if you’re not a stiffer on tipping people, that would pretty much negate the money you’ve saved on parking, especially if you use one again to return to the garage after the game. It might be more fun than trying to find a spot near the park, but it’s not going to save you any money.

 

Given the choice between parking at Alewife or Wellington and transferring to the Green Line or parking at the Prudential Center and doing the walk, I’d probably still go with the train. The T in Boston is still a cleaner ride than public transit in most cities, and while I don’t mind walking a long ways, I’m not crazy about a long hike while I could be missing pre-game festivities.

 

Still, it’s not a bad deal considering, and if you’re going to down an El Tiante Cuban sandwich and a sausage outside, you could probably use the exercise.

 

One comment

  1. clash of clans videos

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post
    seem to be running off the screen in Safari. I’m
    not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web
    browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get
    the problem solved soon. Cheers

Leave a Reply

